Nakshatras in western astrology

Vedic Astrology by Gurmeet Singh -

Western Astrology does not use Dasha System. On the other hand, it studies the planetary transits based on their advances and movements. Western Astrology seems to rely more on the Sun. So, the emphasis is more on psychology, the personality and character of an individual.

27 Hindu Stars (Nakshatras) & Western Names

On the other hand, Vedic or Sidereal system is a Moon-based astrology system which covers all the areas of life. The Tropical or Western chart can provide only a straightforward explanation. Vedic astrology can be very effective and accurate yet a bit more complex. However, both Vedic Astrology and Western Astrology are worth exploring.

Tanmay K.

The GaneshaSpeaks. To Get Your Personalised Solutions! Talk To Astrologer Now. Good luck with that!

Lifestyle Home. Follow Us.

TOP 4 WEALTHIEST SIGNS (Nakshatras, Venus, Rahu/Ketu & more) - Billionaires Research Study

March 17, Differences In Timing Vedic Astrology applies Vimshotarri Dasha system a method to time the planetary system while analysing the planetary transits for future events. Thakar The GaneshaSpeaks. What to Read Next. Yahoo Lifestyle. Women's Health. Men's Health. Marie Claire. Yahoo Lifestyle Videos. Harper's Bazaar. Hello Giggles. They choose a starting point most commonly the place in the sky opposite to Spica for the beginning of Aries, and proceed in equal 30 degree segments for subsequent signs.

Vedic astrologers, by and large, use Whole Sign Houses, where the Ascendant can fall anywhere in the First House, and each house comprises all of one sign.

The 27 Nakshatras

Planets and Sign rulerships Western astrologers use all of the major planets including Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto, and most attribute rulership of Aquarius to Uranus, Pisces to Neptune, and Scorpio to Pluto. Vedic astrologers, on the other hand, stick to the visible planets, i.

Planets only aspect other planets and the angles Ascendant and Midheaven. Vedic astrologers use a different approach: each planet associates with all planets in the same house, and aspects the opposite house and any planets in that house. Mars, Saturn, and Jupiter also have additional unilateral special aspects to both planets and houses.

Western astrologers also place importance upon aspect patterns like Grand Trines, T-squares, Yods, etc. However, while many Western astrologers employ the seven whole chart shapes originated by Marc Edmund Jones e. Bucket, Splash, etc. Differences in Approaches and Methodology Strengths and Weaknesses of Planets In Western astrology, retrograde planets are seen as weak, but since Vedic astrology is oriented towards how planets appear in the actual sky, retrograde planets are seen as strong because planets that are retrograde are at their closest approach to the earth, and therefore visibly both brighter and larger.

Western astrologers also see planets occupying the sign opposite to the sign they rule as weak which they call debilitated , while Vedic astrologers do not see such sign positions as weak. This gets confusing to Western readers of Vedic texts, because Vedic astrologers do see planets in the sign opposite to their exaltation sign as weak, and call such planets either debilitated or fallen interchangeably. Modern Western astrologers seldom employ the concept of combustion i.

Some Western astrologers interpret 8 lunar phases, but they generally don't assess Lunar strength by phase. Vedic astrologers place great importance on Lunar phase, and delineate 30 different Tithis, and consider the Moon as weak when it's within 72 degrees of the Sun, and strong when within one sign of opposite to the Sun. They also see the Moon as weaker when waning than when waxing.

Vedic astrologers consider true planets Mercury through Saturn that are within one degree of each other as at war, and this indicates a major weakness. This is not used in Western astrology. When a planet is in the same sign in both the natal chart and the Navamsha chart with the exception of it being in fall , this gives the planet strength, in Vedic astrology , but this is not used in Western astrology.

Western astrologers do not use this concept. The status of a planet's dispositor is rarely focused on in Western astrology, but in Vedic astrology, each planet's dispositor is seen as the soul of the planet, and is therefore very important. In fact, while exalted planets in Western astrology are always seen as very strong without qualification, in Vedic astrology, if the planet ruling the sign occupied by an exalted planet is weak by sign, then the exalted planet is not seen as strong. Similarly, Fallen planets are seen as invariably weak in Western astrology, but in Vedic astrology they are strengthened if their dispositor is strong, angular, or meets other criteria.

Mutual reception is used by some Western astrologers and by all Vedic astrologers. In Vedic astrology, it is called a Parivartana yoga, and has extensive interpretive meanings including strengthening planets in both the natal and divisional charts.

Benefics and Malefics While Western astrology recognizes Saturn as challenging, the concept of benefic and malefic planets is employed to a much greater extent in Vedic astrology. Mercury is benefic unless solely under the influence of other malefics, the Moon is benefic unless within 72 degrees of the Sun, and Jupiter and Venus are always benefic. The Sun, Mars, Saturn, and the Nodes are malefics. House Meanings and Rulership Houses in Western astrology are rarely classified beyond their angularity or lack thereof, and their elemental affiliation.

Jagannatha Hora

The rulership of houses is used by some Western astrologers, but is at the core of Vedic astrological interpretation. The analysis of planetary yogas in the Vedic chart relies mainly upon the houses ruled by individual planets and pairs of planets. Vedic astrologers rely primarily upon the Vimshottari dasa system cycles and sub-cycles wherein specific natal planets are activated , and secondarily employ the transits of Jupiter and Saturn but not the transits by Uranus, Neptune, or Pluto.

Some also employ other dasa systems. In fact, the use of Nakshatras for Muhurta may even precede the use of the 12 signs in astrology. Synastry Western astrology is rich in methods of compatibility analysis including examining placement of planets in each other's houses, inter-aspects between the charts , and a variety of combined e.